Azerbaijan is located in the southeastern part of the Caucasus, descending to the Caspian Sea, between Iran and Russia. As the Caucasus Mountains are the conventional border between Europe and Asia, the northeast half of the country is in Europe and the southwest half is in Asia.

Time Zone
GMT+4 hours


  • Total: 86,600 sq. km (33,436 sq. miles)
  • Land: 86,100 sq. km (33,243 sq. miles)
  • Water: 500 sq. km (193 sq. miles)
  • Comparative: slightly smaller than the state of Maine in the US

The total area includes the exclave of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, as well as the Nagorno-Karabakh region. In addition to the continental part, Azerbaijan’s territory includes several islands located along the Caspian coastline.

Border Countries

  • Armenia: 787 km (489 miles)
  • Georgia: 322 km (200 miles)
  • Iran: 611km (380 miles)
  • Russia: 284 km (176 miles)
  • Turkey: 9 km (5.6 miles)

Total Land Borders

  • 2,013 km (1,250 miles)

Azerbaijan borders the Caspian Sea (800 km/497 miles).
There are three large land protrusions:

  • the Absheron peninsula
  • the Sara peninsula
  • the Kura sand bar.