# Subject: University Governance

1.	Board of Trustees	1
2.	Rector	1
3.	Vice-Rector of Academic Affairs	1
4.	The University Senate	1
5.	Deans Council	2
6.	Committee on Faculty Affairs	2

### 1. Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees includes prominent and renowned people. The Board of Trustees advises the university on strategic matters and facilitates the advancement of the university, both nationally and internationally.

## 2. Rector

The Rector is the chief executive officer of the university. The Rector is responsible for management and operation of the university. The Rector also represents the university to the public.

## 3. Vice-Rector of Academic Affairs

Heeding advice from faculty, the Rector appoints the Vice Rector of Academic Affairs, who is the chief academic officer of the University. The Vice Rector of Academic Affairs is a member of the University faculty, as well as an ex-officio member of each academic committee of the University and is a voting member of the University Senate. He/she receives recommendations by the faculty and academic administrators on academic programs for his/her consideration, decides, then, makes further recommendations to the University Senate and to the Rector.

## 4. The University Senate

The governing body of the University is the University Senate. The University Senate is the primary venue for discussion of University-wide issues and enables communication between various constituencies at ADA University. The University Senate provides a forum for considering matters directly related to the well-being of ADA University. The University Senate has the authority to discuss and express its views on any matter of interest to the University and to make recommendations to the Rector, Vice Rectors and to the faculty. The Senate conducts its functions as a body and through committees and persons duly delegated to act on its behalf.

The University Senate is comprised of permanent, appointed and elected members. Permanent members of the Senate include:

- 1. Rector (Chair)
- 2. Vice Rectors
- 3. Deans

- 4. Director of Library
- 5. Director of Admissions and Student Records

The Rector may appoint two (2) members to the Senate. Each School elects two faculty members to sit on the University Senate. Elected members of the Senate serve for two years. The president and vice president of the Student Government are non-voting members, except in those matters concerning student affairs and student life.

### 5. Deans Council

Deans Council serves as an executive committee of the University Senate. Deans Council is the primary venue for discussion and recommendations related to the planning and management of all aspects of the university, including academic affairs, curricula, degree requirements, admission criteria and standards.

#### 6. Committee on Faculty Affairs

The Committee on Faculty Affairs (CFA) is a standing committee of the University Senate, whose duties and responsibilities include advice and input on faculty recruitment, appointment, retention, development and promotion; issues of faculty grievance; scholarship and research strategy; standards of scholarship and instruction, academic policies and regulations; student academic performance and retention; matters of academic integrity and honesty, and other significant matters pertaining to the academic mission of the University. Committee submits its recommendations related to these duties and responsibilities to the Deans Council for further consideration and actions.